Paul DeCarolis

Paul DeCarolis Honored With the 82nd Rochester Rotary Award

Home > About Us > News > Paul DeCarolis Honored With the 82nd Rochester Rotary Award

DeCarolis Truck Rental Chairman Paul DeCarolis was honored with Rochester Rotary Award, the oldest and most prestigious civic award in Rochester on Monday, June 17, 2019 at the George Eastman Museum.  Paul is the 82nd recipient of the award.

Rochester Rotary is honoring Paul DeCarolis for his service to Rochester Rotary and for his generous support for Rochester Rotary Sunshine Campus, the Rochester Museum and Science Center, Italian Heritage Foundation of Rochester and many other area nonprofits.

In his nomination support letter, Bonadio Group COO Robert Enright stated, “During his nearly 35 years as a Rotary member, Paul has supported almost every Rotary project, including bringing safe drinking water to Sunshine Camp, assisting in funding the reconstruction of Ezra’s Pond, building Bucky’s Splash Pad, and expanding the Clinger Golf Course. Some of these projects have names associated with them. That is not Paul. He is quiet in his philanthropy and shies away from public recognition. However, he is a steadfast pillar behind nearly every Rotary project for the past three decades.”

Past Rochester Rotary president Peter Sarratori added, “Paul is one of the most generous people you will ever meet. When he involves himself in a project, he does it out of the goodness of his heart and for no other reason.”

Sam Merlo, past Rochester Rotary president, cited that Paul DeCarolis is “a good man, a generous man, an honest competitor, a friend to those in need … and an inspiration to all of us.”

The Rochester Rotary Award recognizes community members who personify Rotary’s “Service Above Self” motto and who demonstrate exceptional community spirit, touch the lives of many citizens, serve as a positive role model, and share wisdom and knowledge to empower others. Previous honorees include B. Thomas Golisano, Frank Gannett, Al Sigl, Gilbert J.C. McCurdy, Joseph Wilson, Marion Folsom, Ritter Shumway, Constance Mitchell, Burton August, Don Alhart, Dr. Walter Cooper, R. Carlos Carballada, Joan and Harold Feinbloom, Dr. Ralph Pennino, James B. Isaac, Andrew and Karen Gallina, David Flaum and Victor Salerno.


Back to News