Elaine Spaull Names 85th Rotary Award Recipient

Home > About Us > News > Elaine Spaull Names 85th Rotary Award Recipient

Elaine Spaull to be Honored With the 85th Rochester Rotary Award


Elaine Spaull, PhD, JD, will be the 85th recipient of the Rochester Rotary Award, the oldest and most prestigious civic award in Rochester. The award recognizes community members who personify Rotary’s “Service Above Self” motto and who demonstrate exceptional community spirit, touch the lives of many citizens, serve as a positive role model, and share wisdom and knowledge to empower others.


Rochester Rotary is honoring Elaine Spaull for her more than 45 years of service to the Rochester community as an educator, lawyer, elected official, youth advocate and social activist. Spaull serves as executive director of The Center for Youth. Under her leadership The Center reaches more than 25,000 young people each year in schools, in residential shelters, on the street and in community centers.


In her nomination letter, Cheryl Gossin, The Center for Youth Board Member and Program Committee Chair, wrote, “Elaine is a blessing to countless families and youth in the Rochester community. She is a blessing to the babies at the Crisis Nursery who are in need of loving childcare. She is a blessing to the young mother who needs food for her family. She is a blessing to the young man who is looking for job training to build a brighter future for himself. She is a blessing to the LGBTQ young person who doesn’t have anywhere else to turn for acceptance and housing. Our community is blessed to have Elaine’s innovative leadership and determination in building programs to help the most vulnerable.”


Previous Rochester Rotary Award honorees include B. Thomas Golisano, Al Sigl, Joseph Wilson, Marion Folsom, Ritter Shumway, Constance Mitchell, Burton August, Don Alhart, Dr. Walter Cooper, R. Carlos Carballada, Joan and Harold Feinbloom, Dr. Ralph Pennino, James Isaac, Andrew and Karen Gallina, David Flaum, Victor Salerno, Paul DeCarolis, Dr. Vito Quatela and Howard Konar.


Rochester Rotary will present the award during a reception on Wednesday, Sept. 20, 2023, from 5 to 8 p.m. at the George Eastman Museum. Proceeds from the event will benefit Rochester Rotary Sunshine Camp. Ticket information is available online at rochesterrotary.org, or by contacting Myrna Padilla at Rochester Rotary, myrna@rochesterrotary.org or 585.546.7435, ext. 201.

Back to News